Perspectives on the history of the Guild Chapel: Ancient and modern
Sandra MacDonald, Rodger Palmer
The accounts of the Masters and Proctors (1353-1504) give a unique view of the medieval Guild's pre-occupations and activities. The structure that today’s visitors see, however, reflects the results of major renovation carried out during the 1960s. An archive of over 50 letters between Levi Fox, the chair of the committee overseeing the renovation, and Stephen Dykes Bower, the architect, gives a fascinating insight into the decisions made during this ambitious project.